Tuesday, January 17, 2012

NEWS RELEASE: Claudia Barker New Executive Director of Edible Schoolyard New Orleans

NEW ORLEANS, LA, Tuesday, January 17, 2012 – Today Claudia Barker starts as the new Executive Director of the Edible Schoolyard New Orleans, a signature program of FirstLine Schools. 

A native New Orleanian, Claudia Barker has enjoyed serving the non-profit community for the past 30 years both as an executive and as an independent consultant From 2004 through 2011 Claudia served as the Executive Director of New Orleans Outreach, an organization dedicated to improving the quality of public education in New Orleans by bringing community resources and volunteers into the schools.  Before this she served as Director of Young Aspirations/Young Artists (YA/YA), Inc., an arts and social service organization that trains urban youth to become professional artists.  While there she authored YA/YA!  Young New Orleans Artists and Their Storytelling Chairs (and How to YA/YA in Your Neighborhood), published by LSU Press in 1996.  Claudia also served as Assistant Director of the Arts Council of New Orleans, Development Director of the Contemporary Arts Center, and as a development associate at WYES.  Claudia completed an M.A. in history at the University of New Orleans in 1981.

FirstLine Schools and Edible Schoolyard New Orleans are pleased to welcome Claudia to the team.

Edible Schoolyard NOLA
Edible Schoolyard NOLA is a comprehensive seed to table food education program that aims to change the way kids eat, learn and live at (5) FirstLine public charter schools.  The program offers hands-on gardening and kitchen classes that are integrated into the curriculum, culture, and cafeteria programs at the schools it serve.  Founded in 2006, ESY NOLA is in its sixth year of operation and serves 2,400 students in grades pre K through 12th across the FirstLine Schools network.

FirstLine Schools
The mission of FirstLine Schools is to create and inspire great public schools in New Orleans.  FirstLine currently operates Samuel J. Green Charter School, Arthur Ashe Charter School, John Dibert Community School, Langston Hughes Academy, and Joseph S. Clark Preparatory High School. 

No comments:

Post a Comment